Hoshi wa Utau 39

I was trying to be all cool and have a triple-release (Chapter 39, 38v2, and the first WKC chapter), but no such luck. In any event, chapter 39 of Hoshi wa Utau is here. The rest will be out in two weeks, along with HwU chapter 40.

If anyone was wondering abotu the delays, this chapter proved a bit more emotionally draining (and talky) than I was perpared for, so it took longer, and everyone wondering if I had died made me care even less about finishing quickly. This is a really depressing chapter, and I can’t wait to be done with this arc so I can work quickly without fearing for my soul. It’s done now, and the next chapter is much lighter, so that sort of delay won’t happen again.

Also, translation notes have been added for chapters 38 and 39, as well as the series in general. Not much there for now, but they’ll fill themselves in.

~ by Moogle Warrior on July 23, 2010.

16 Responses to “Hoshi wa Utau 39”

  1. thanks for translating.

    i kind of like the chapter though :> idk, like bit of life story and reality.

  2. Takaya-sensei creates such scary parents…Thank you for doing your best even as it was almost painful to you~! I’m terribly grateful.

  3. Thank you very much for scanlating this story. It’s one of my favorite so I’m truly grateful for all the effort.

  4. Thank you! To the reader, this chapter doesn’t seem that depressing. After all, we don’t learn anything we didn’t know already. But I understand why you found it difficult to translate. The beginning of the chapter must have been particularly dispiriting.
    I like this arc. We get to understand Saku and Kanade’s relationship better.

  5. Thanks so much for the scanlation! I was really looking forward to read this chapter

  6. Hi, thanking you with lotsa love for your generosity. Thank you for bringing us the releases faster by giving it a second life ‘through english translations’.

  7. thanks so much for this new chapter!!!

  8. Thank you so much for your hard work! >w<

  9. Thanks! Even though I kinda knew what happened to Kanade and Sakuya it was still disheartning to read…the saddest part is that if those so called parents ever face difficulty, who are they gonna turn to? Oh yeah those kids that they threw away…I beleive Kanade would turn his back on his parents if they came back begging for his help/forgiveness, but Saku would forgive, even though they should rot in hell….

  10. I want to thank you SO much for translating this manga.
    I love this stoey, and I was afraid when the chapters stopped coming out, then, YOU came along and made my life happier again!
    THANK YOU SO MUCH!
    😀

  11. Thanks so much for picking up this series. I have only had contact with MagicBulletGirl and she seems very nice, but I don’t know who else is in the EY&C group. I don’t know why their last release was way back in December. I provided raws for anyone and everyone, so feel free to use them. I do have larger scans if you need them for the handwritten notes in chapter 40. If you do, just let me know.

  12. Thank you for your hard work on this new chapter. Very much appreciated! 🙂

  13. Thanks for this 😀

  14. Thank you so much for doing this! (It’s more like, THANKYOUTHANKYOU typed out five hundred times tearfully, but I’d rather my gratitude not be spamtastic.) Takaya’s manga is the emotional punch in the gut I need every now and again. I’d probably survive until the manga came out in English, but I really appreciate this. (And the swears. You know the swears won’t be there anymore. I remember a Yuki screaming, “SHUT THE FUCK UP!” in a scanlated version (which I loved), and when I got my hands on the English version they decided on “Quit screwing around!”. It’s just not the same. (Random-esque: I remember reading somewhere that Takaya was upset the anime version of Fruits Basket was too light-hearted. I can’t wait to see what happens if there’s ever an adaptation for Hoshi wa Utau.) Sorry for the useless babble, and thank you once again!

  15. New chapter (40) will be out tomorrow, along with a shiny rerelease of chapter 38 (re-edited with new fonts and a few embarrassing errors corrected).

    • Where can I find chapter 40? Also, I heard that there was a Fruits Basket 4koma in Hana to Yume’s 900th anniversary issue, do you know where I could find it?

Leave a Reply

 
